About CenSUs: Everyone Counts

On June 12, 2020, President Jonathan Green issued a call to action for Susquehanna University to become an actively antiracist community, and to that end established the CenSUs: Everyone Counts Taskforce, co-chaired by Associate Professor of Anthropology Shari Jacobson and Professor of Economics Olu Onafowora. The taskforce comprised thirteen students, twenty-five staff members, seventeen members of the faculty, and one member of the Board of Trustees. The taskforce was charged to develop a series of action steps to be undertaken this summer and in the coming year to make our campus a supportive community in which all members are safe, valued, and provided with opportunities to thrive and flourish.


Work began with an examination of fourteen documents shared by President Green and Provost Dave Ramsaran with the taskforce co-chairs. These documents included surveys, an action plan produced by a consultant, reports from ad hoc committees, and individual observations. Taken as a whole, they pointed to five broad areas of concern, which turned into the five core committees of the taskforce: Faculty and Staff Issues; Plant and Facilities; Public Safety and Law Enforcement; Student-Centered Education; and the Website and Social Media.

CenSUs Task Force Recommendations

The taskforce was charged to develop a series of action steps to be undertaken beginning summer 2020 to ensure that the Susquehanna campus is a supportive community in which all members are safe, valued, and provided with opportunities to thrive and flourish.

View The Recommendations
Skip Block Navigation


Security Upgrades First Among CenSUs Work

September 01, 2020

Work of Susquehanna’s CenSUs: Everyone Counts task force advanced this summer with notable security upgrades to campus.

Land Dedicated to Susquehannock Tribe

November 10, 2020

Susquehanna has established a physical location on campus that acknowledges the land on which the university is located as the original homeland of the Susquehannock Tribe.

Taskforce Participants & Subcommittees

The CenSUs Task Force is being led by professors Olu Onafowora and Shari Jacobson.  In the tabs below you will find information on the charges of each of the subcommittees and the membership of those committees. 

The following committee members are participating in all five subcommittees:
  • Michael Dixon, chief inclusion and diversity officer
  • Shari Jacobson, associate professor of anthropology
  • Olu Onafowora, professor of economics, department head of economics
  • Jim Stowe, board of trustees
  • Crystal Van Horn, academic assistant

Student-Centered Education

This committee will be thinking broadly about the education of our students. Orientation, co-curricular programming, and residence hall life will all be examined.

Sub-Committee Members:

  • Ryan Ake, research librarian/outreach & collections development, assistant professor
  • Abigail Antoine, Senior, Major in Psychology, Minors in Africana Studies and Sociology
  • Izabel Galliera, assistant professor of art history
  • Cheyenne Keams, senior, major in sociology-secondary education, minor in anthropology
  • Scott Kershner, chaplain
  • Susan Lantz, vice president for student life
  • Peg Peeler, professor of biology, co-director of neuroscience
  • Samantha Proffitt, director of first year experience
  • Sydney Salas, sophomore, majors in biology and anthropology, honors program
  • Ed Slavishak, professor of history
  • Shan Yan, associate professor of finance
  • Colleen Zoller, professor of philosophy, department head of philosophy

Faculty & Staff-Centered Issues 

This committee has a two-fold charge: first, to ensure faculty and staff are trained to work with a diverse student body whose understandings of diversity are fluid and may differ from faculty and staff understandings of diversity. Second, this committee needs to address questions of tenure, promotion, campus climate, and retention for faculty and staff of color and other underrepresented minorities.

Sub-Committee Members:

  • Jennifer Bucher, vice president of human resources
  • Matt Duperon, associate professor of religious studies, director of center for teaching and learning
  • Sarah Farbo, assistant director of service leaders program & career development
  • Theresa Finley, assistant professor economics
  • Heather Lang, assistant professor of English, writing coordinator
  • Maggi Reedel, senior, Major in Anthropology; Minors in Women and Gender Studies, Philosophy, and Environmental Studies
  • Daryl Rodgers, associate professor of Italian, department head of languages, literatures and cultures, director of applied language studies
  • Michaeline Shuman, assistant provost and director of career development
  • Thomas Tang, senior, Majors in Political Science and Economics
  • Christina Wolfe, housekeeper

Plant and Facilities

This team will examine how the arrangement and use of spaces on our campus are rendered welcoming and supportive for different members of our community.

Sub-Committee Members:

  • Chris Bailey, director of facilities management
  • John Bodinger, associate professor of anthropology, department head of sociology and anthropology, director of diversity studies and museum studies
  • Russ-Ahna Davenport, junior, Major in Creative Writing, Computer Science 3-2 Pre-Engineering Program, Honors Program
  • Anastasia Farley - Junior, Majors in Publishing and Editing and Creative Writing, Honors Program
  • Meg Garnett, special collections librarian, assistant professor
  • Lynn Palermo, associate professor of French
  • Christiana Paradis, office of violence against women program coordinator, adjunct faculty in women’s studies
  • Christopher Kalcich - Sophomore, Major in Studio Art, Selinsgrove Borough Council Member

Public Safety & Law Enforcement

This committee is charged with ensuring that our campus and environs are safe for all faculty, staff, students, and visitors.

Sub-Committee Members:

  • Miranda Carrasquillo, coordinator of the Johnson Center for Civic Engagement
  • Justin Darden, Junior, Major in Political Science
  • Malcolm Derk, director of grants & foundation relations
  • Eric Hinton, associate professor of music, director of bands
  • Scott Manning, dean of global programs, associate professor of French
  • Stacey Pearson-Wharton, dean of health & wellness, director of counseling center
  • Claire Townsend, Senior, Major in Psychology, Minor in Anthropology

Website, Social Media & Digital Communication

This committee has two broad charges: first, to make sure our website and other digital communications make it easy to find information about diversity and campus safety; and second to push out on social media messaging that reflects a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Sub-Committee Members:

  • Amanda Bannon, digital marketing manager
  • Elijah Hall, Junior, Major in Marketing
  • Kira McNally, digital marketing specialist
  • Anna Miller, associate director of admission communication
  • Nairem Moran, director of athletic communications
  • Michael Ozlanski, assistant professor of accounting
  • Alissa Packer, associate professor of biology
  • Dena Salerno, dean for student diversity & inclusion, title IX coordinator
  • Logan Sweet, associate director of advancement communications
  • Chandra Crosson, Sophomore, Major in Communications: Digital Multimedia Broadcasting
  • Rachael Blaine, Senior, Majors in Creative Writing and Publishing and Editing